Credit where credit is due but often neglected

So people seem to quite like Hit & Mist, which is pretty awesome and very gratifying. Some of the feedback has been really cool and nice to hear.

What it has reminded me of is something that has privately puzzled me my whole life – how the attention of your average music listener seems to fall entirely on vocalists. While I accept it as a universal truth and don’t mean to appear snobbish or belittle anyone, I find it hard to understand on a personal level. For as long as I can remember my brain has involuntarily dissected and pulled apart music; tracking the bass lines, picking out the pianos, mapping out the drum beats. Don’t get me wrong, I love vocalists. I love singing. I love music driven by lyrics and melody. But when it’s done right there’s so much more depth to music than just what’s front and centre and it’s the folks in the background who lifted this album above the obvious and into something more exciting.

I’m overjoyed that the vocalists on Hit & Mist are getting the applause they rightly deserve, but here are a few of my favorite things about the album that no-one has mentioned yet:

Bria’s fantastic double-tracked violin work on Sweet Mary Lou.
The strings on Silent Whisper and Horse On The Storm.
Abie’s backing vocals on Fields Of Talcontar and Skia Draco. Such a beautiful voice!
Gwen’s beautiful performance on Silent Whisper. Totally made the song what it is.
The drums on Mariana. They were NOT easy, people! 😛
Craig’s bass and Mike’s trumpet on Dark Streets Of Dagger. They totally NAILED the vibe we wanted.

Those are a few of the little things I love about Hit & Mist. I’d love to hear some of yours. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. I love the “Uh… Ha…” backing vocals in Marianna. Brilliant and slightly unexpected.
    I also like the considered nature of a lot of the drumming. To me it sounds like kit drumming with a hand drummers mentality and a lot of it fits much better than the obvious might have done.

    • That’d be Jamie and Mike on those vocals. When Jamie originally pitched the idea I was sceptical, but I really like the way they turned out.

      Thanks for your comments about the drumming! I tried to give the kit that tribal feel in both style and sound, and I think it worked pretty well overall. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment in general, actually. It’s my first! 😀

  2. Phil, I think most people will by default listen to the sound they’re most familiar with. For the most part guitarists listen for the guitar line more than the other parts, drummers can talk about nuances of drum sound that is lost on me and bassists, well I guess they find something to listen to (lol joke… obviously…). Singers get the best of the attention because it’s part ‘singing instrument’ and nearly everyone in the world has at least sung to themselves so it’s a lot easier to relate to and it’s part words which require very little translation for most listeners.

    I agree though, once you know what to listen for there’s a lot more to be found in most instrumental parts; even just listing them as you’ve done is a good way to get people to go ‘oh yeah’ and give it another listen.

    • Nice to see you! 🙂

      I think you’re spot on with that. Everyone has a voice. Obviously really when you think about it. 🙂
      The lyrics carry a lot of the meaning of a song to a lot of people, too.

Leave a Reply

